Founded in 1937, the clubs catchment area stretched the length of the picturesque Dodder Valley, from Old Bawn right up to Castlekelly. The idea of setting up a Gaelic football club in the area was first mooted by Fr. George Henry, the then catholic curate in the Bohernabreena parish. He encouraged and urged men such as, Albert West, Sonny Reilly, and Barney Kilbride to put the idea into motion. They duly took his advice on board, and they arranged a meeting which was held at Callaghans Bridge, (near the entrance to the Waterworks).